Daily Archives: May 26, 2011

I Found the Holy Grail!

I found out that they now sell the Holy Grail Ale in six packs – I only ever remember it in larger 500ml bottles.  My husband snagged said prize (it was hard to miss with the glowing lights and angels singing around it) and brought it home for us to drink.  Wow – after my first sip I’m reminded how appropriately named it is.  I love the malt and hop flavors… and seeing as it’s brewed in England – it has that “English water” taste.  You know what I’m talking about right – that taste that is so hard for brewers here to duplicate?  That English water really adds to the malty richness and full mouth feel of the beer.  Just by tasting it, I wouldn’t have guessed that it’s only 4.7%ABV – it seems so much bigger.  I’m thankful for the lower alcohol content though, it’s nice to have a beer you can sit back and enjoy 2 (or 5) of.  🙂

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the tie in to Monty Python – as I love “The Holy Grail” movie!  I didn’t test it out, but I’d be willing to bet they engineered these bottle caps to float so it’s easier to determine who’s a witch.