Old Tom – Claims “World’s Best Ale”?

I took this with my cell phone’s camera, so don’t hold it against me.   I’m going to have to start carrying my camera out with me when I go have beer at friends’ houses!

This is another beer that our friend Pat brought back from Europe.  This “Old Tom” Strong Ale is brewed by Robinsons Brewery in Stockport, England.   It’s 8.5% and sports a great label!

This beer was so malty… but without any sweetness.  It was the strangest thing!  My husband said it tasted a lot like Black Strap Molasses, which aren’t sweet like regular molasses.  Whatever was in this, it wasn’t my thing.  I enjoy rich, full, malty beers – but part of the reason I love malty beers is because the malt brings with it some sweetness and even a raisin taste, at times.

I did love this small little warning on the back showing a pregnant lady with an “X” through it.  Nice of them to add a PSA.  I thought that was just as cute as the Tom Cat on the front.

Evidently, for a small bottle, it’s pretty pricey, but with a label stating “World’s Best Ale”, you’ve gotta give it a try – right?

About brownalegirl

I'm a freelance photographer in Virginia who loves good beer. View all posts by brownalegirl

Leave a comment